Skip to content
topvrnews
HPReleased November 2020

HP Reverb G2

61Fair

Limited owner evidence. Specs are sourced leads, not a full review.

Price class
Mid-range
Works with
PC VRSteam

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Score

How it scores

Out of 100, on the same scale as every headset we rate. Price is left out. How we score

61Fair

Clarity

68
  • Pixels per eye13.7/16
  • Lenses3.9/7
  • Panel2.8/4
  • 120 Hz or more0/3

Field of view

73
  • Horizontal field of view10.9/15

Comfort

83
  • Weight10.5/14
  • Lens spacing6/6

Battery

—

Does not apply: it runs on a cable, with no battery.

Tracking

30
  • Head tracking4.5/5
  • Passthrough · not published0/4
  • Hand tracking0/3
  • Eye tracking0/3

Ease of setup

30
  • Plays on its own0/5
  • No base stations3/3
  • Wireless0/2

Specifications

The hardware, on the catalog's scale

Sourced leads only. Owner evidence for this headset is too thin for a full review yet.

Sources and confidence →

Resolution, drawn to scale

Per eye · 4.7 megapixels2160×2160
Dual LCD90 Hz

Field of view vs human vision

Horizontal × vertical98°×90.85°
98°130°98°200°
Horizontal · seen from above
90.85°115°135°
Vertical · seen from the side

This headsetHuman visionWidest in catalogManufacturer figure

Horizontal
98° manufacturer98.85° measured
Vertical
90.85° measured

36th widest of 45 published horizontal fields · vertical 25th of 28.

Human vision here is the clinical normal field: 200° across and 135° tall, per Spector, Clinical Methods, ch. 116 ↗

Weight550 g

76 g lightest1040 g heaviest

550 grams against a catalog that runs 76 to 1040 grams.

19th lightest of 38. Published figures cover different straps and batteries. Comfort depends on fit and balance too.

Manufacturer QuickSpecs product weight; cable inclusion is not stated.

60–68 mm eye spacing (IPD)

Battery on a chargeNot published

Battery life is not confirmed.

Optics

Fresnel

Concentric ridges in place of a thick curve. Cheap and bright, with god rays and a narrower sweet spot.

Instead of
  • Pancake
  • Aspheric
  • Dual-element
PassthroughSources disagree

Color

Cameras relay the room in colour. This is the feed mixed reality is built on.

Instead of
  • Grayscale
  • None
Tracking

Inside-out

Cameras on the headset map the room. Nothing to mount, but blind spots behind you and above your head.

Instead of
  • Base stations

Also on board

  • Eye trackingUnconfirmed
  • Hand trackingUnconfirmed
  • DisplayPortYes

Limited owner evidence

Limited owner evidence. Specs are sourced leads, not a full review.

Sources and confidence

Every spec, field by field

Each published value, how well it is backed, and the page it came from.

Corroboratedtwo or more sources agreeSingle sourceone page backs itSources disagreeread with care

Terms: FoV · PPD · Pancake · IPD

Display

HP Reverb G2: display, published values, confidence, and sources.
Per eye
2160×2160Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel
Dual LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate
90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

HP Reverb G2: optics & field of view, published values, confidence, and sources.
Lens type
Fresnel-asphericalSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Horizontal · manufacturer
98°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

HP does not identify the axis for its approximate 114° value.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Horizontal · measured
98.85°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Vertical · measured
90.85°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

HP Reverb G2: fit & power, published values, confidence, and sources.
Weight
550 gSingle source

Manufacturer QuickSpecs product weight; cable inclusion is not stated.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD range
60–68 mmSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

HP Reverb G2: tracking & input, published values, confidence, and sources.
Tracking
Inside-out with four camerasSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough
colorSources disagree

VRcompare: Passthrough via tracking cameras; VR Headset Picker: none.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

The QuickSpecs lists tracking cameras but does not characterize passthrough output.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

No eye tracking is documented in the checked QuickSpecs, but absence alone is not encoded as false.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No hand tracking is documented in the checked QuickSpecs, but absence alone is not encoded as false.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

HP Reverb G2: silicon & connection, published values, confidence, and sources.
DisplayPort
Yes, DisplayPort 1.3Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published fields

HP Reverb G2: other published fields, published values, confidence, and sources.
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified
114°Single source

The manufacturer does not say whether this is horizontal, vertical or diagonal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • HP · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Typical/list price
$599Corroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No stable USD MSRP was retained.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10