Skip to content
topvrnews
Oculus Rift S

Oculus Rift S

Open full image
MetaReleased May 2019

Oculus Rift S

38Weak

Legacy headset. Listed for comparison and history; not a current buy recommendation.

Price class
Mid-range
Works with
PC VR

Typically$399

Score

How it scores

Out of 100, on the same scale as every headset we rate. Price is left out. How we score

38Weak

Clarity

38
  • Pixels per eye4.7/16
  • Lenses3.9/7
  • Panel2.8/4
  • 120 Hz or more0/3

Field of view

50
  • Horizontal field of view7.5/15

Comfort

30
  • Weight · not published4.2/14
  • Lens spacing · not published1.8/6

Battery

—

Does not apply: it runs on a cable, with no battery.

Tracking

41
  • Head tracking4.5/5
  • Passthrough1.6/4
  • Hand tracking0/3
  • Eye tracking0/3

Ease of setup

30
  • Plays on its own0/5
  • No base stations3/3
  • Wireless0/2

Specifications

The hardware, on the catalog's scale

Sourced leads only. Owner evidence for this headset is too thin for a full review yet.

Sources and confidence →

Resolution, drawn to scale

Per eye · 1.8 megapixels1280×1440
LCD80 Hz

Field of view vs human vision

Horizontal × vertical88°×94°
88°130°200°
Horizontal · seen from above
94°115°135°
Vertical · seen from the side

This headsetHuman visionWidest in catalog

Horizontal
88° measured
Vertical
94° measured

42nd widest of 45 published horizontal fields · vertical 24th of 28.

Human vision here is the clinical normal field: 200° across and 135° tall, per Spector, Clinical Methods, ch. 116 ↗

WeightSources disagree563 g–590 g

Published as a range across configurations, so there is no single weight to place against the catalog.

58–72 mm eye spacing (IPD)

Battery on a chargeNot published

Battery life is not confirmed.

Optics

Fresnel

Concentric ridges in place of a thick curve. Cheap and bright, with god rays and a narrower sweet spot.

Instead of
  • Pancake
  • Aspheric
  • Dual-element
Passthrough

Passthrough+ camera view

The published wording does not fit one of the usual types, so we show it as the source wrote it.

Usual types
  • Color
  • Grayscale
  • None
Tracking

Inside-out

Cameras on the headset map the room. Nothing to mount, but blind spots behind you and above your head.

Instead of
  • Base stations

Also on board

  • Eye trackingUnconfirmed
  • Hand trackingUnconfirmed
  • DisplayPortUnconfirmed

Limited owner evidence

Legacy headset. Listed for comparison and history; not a current buy recommendation.

Sources and confidence

Every spec, field by field

Each published value, how well it is backed, and the page it came from.

Corroboratedtwo or more sources agreeSingle sourceone page backs itSources disagreeread with care

Terms: FoV · PPD · Pancake · IPD

Display

Oculus Rift S: display, published values, confidence, and sources.
Per eye
1280×1440Corroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No exact official per-eye resolution was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Panel
LCDCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

The announcement says higher-resolution display but the retained official source does not state panel type.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Refresh rate
80 HzCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No exact official refresh rate was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Optics & field of view

Oculus Rift S: optics & field of view, published values, confidence, and sources.
Lens type
FresnelSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No official lens taxonomy was retained.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Horizontal · measured
88°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Vertical · measured
94°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Oculus Rift S: fit & power, published values, confidence, and sources.
Weight
563 g–590 gSources disagree

VRcompare: 590 g; VR Headset Picker: 563 g.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No official product weight was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
IPD range
58–72 mmSources disagree

VRcompare: 58–72 mm; VR Headset Picker: 64 mm.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No numeric official IPD range was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Oculus Rift S: tracking & input, published values, confidence, and sources.
Tracking
Inside-out Oculus InsightSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough
Passthrough+ camera viewSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No definitive yes/no statement was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking
NoSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No definitive yes/no statement was retained.

Silicon & connection

Oculus Rift S: silicon & connection, published values, confidence, and sources.
DisplayPort
YesCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

The retained announcement does not state the physical video connector.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published fields

Oculus Rift S: other published fields, published values, confidence, and sources.
Announced
March 20, 2019Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Release date
May 21, 2019Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Typical/list price
$399Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13