Skip to content
topvrnews
ValveReleased September 2026

Steam Frame

76Good

Released on 14 September 2026. Limited owner evidence so far: no review, and Valve is allocating early units through reservation rather than open sale, so availability is not the same as being able to buy one today.

Price class
Premium
Works with
StandalonePC VRSteam

Typically$1,059

Score

How it scores

Out of 100, on the same scale as every headset we rate. Price is left out. How we score

76Good

Clarity

88
  • Pixels per eye13.7/16
  • Lenses7/7
  • Panel2.8/4
  • 120 Hz or more3/3

Field of view

90
  • Horizontal field of view13.5/15

Comfort

69
  • Weight12/14
  • Lens spacing · not published1.8/6

Battery

30
  • Battery life · not published3/10

Tracking

61
  • Head tracking4.5/5
  • Passthrough1.6/4
  • Hand tracking0/3
  • Eye tracking3/3

Ease of setup

100
  • Plays on its own5/5
  • No base stations3/3
  • Wireless2/2

Specifications

The hardware, on the catalog's scale

Sourced leads only. Owner evidence for this headset is too thin for a full review yet.

Sources and confidence →

Resolution, drawn to scale

Per eye · 4.7 megapixels2160×2160
LCD90 Hz120 Hz144 Hz

Field of view vs human vision

Horizontal × vertical110°×88°
110°130°200°
Horizontal · seen from above
88°115°135°
Vertical · seen from the side

This headsetHuman visionWidest in catalog

Horizontal
110° manufacturer110° measured
Vertical
88° measured

14th widest of 45 published horizontal fields · vertical 27th of 28.

Human vision here is the clinical normal field: 200° across and 135° tall, per Spector, Clinical Methods, ch. 116 ↗

Weight440 g

76 g lightest1040 g heaviest

440 grams against a catalog that runs 76 to 1040 grams.

13th lightest of 38. Published figures cover different straps and batteries. Comfort depends on fit and balance too.

60–70 mm eye spacing (IPD)

Battery on a chargeNot specified

Battery life is not confirmed.

Optics

Pancake

Folded optics. Thin, sharp to the edges, and light-hungry, so they need a brighter panel behind them.

Instead of
  • Fresnel
  • Aspheric
  • Dual-element
Passthrough

Grayscale

You can see the room, in black and white. Enough to find your drink, not to work in.

Instead of
  • Color
  • None
Tracking

Inside-out

Cameras on the headset map the room. Nothing to mount, but blind spots behind you and above your head.

Instead of
  • Base stations

Also on board

  • Eye trackingUnconfirmed
  • Hand trackingUnconfirmed
  • DisplayPortPC streaming can use the included 6GHz adapter or a 5GHz router wired directly to the PC.
ChipsetSources disagree

Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3

As the maker publishes it

Limited owner evidence

Released on 14 September 2026. Limited owner evidence so far: no review, and Valve is allocating early units through reservation rather than open sale, so availability is not the same as being able to buy one today.

In the news

Steam Frame news

What changed since we wrote this page.

All VR news →

Sources and confidence

Every spec, field by field

Each published value, how well it is backed, and the page it came from.

Corroboratedtwo or more sources agreeSingle sourceone page backs itSources disagreeread with care

Terms: FoV · PPD · Pancake · IPD

Display

Steam Frame: display, published values, confidence, and sources.
Per eye
2160×2160Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No accessible exact per-eye resolution was retained from Valve.

Panel
LCDCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No accessible exact panel-type specification was retained from Valve.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Refresh rate
90 / 120 / 144 HzCorroborated

VRcompare: 144; VR Eddie: 90/120/144 Hz.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No accessible official refresh-mode specification was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Optics & field of view

Steam Frame: optics & field of view, published values, confidence, and sources.
Lens type
PancakeSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No accessible official lens specification was retained.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Horizontal · manufacturer
Up to 110°Single source

Valve's figure, as PC Gamer reports it.

Review · checked 2026-09-28
  • PC Gamer · Review · checked 2026-09-28
Horizontal · measured
110°Single source

Measured by PC Gamer with TestHMD.

Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28
  • PC Gamer · Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28
Vertical · measured
88°Single source

Measured by PC Gamer with TestHMD.

Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28
  • PC Gamer · Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28

Fit & power

Steam Frame: fit & power, published values, confidence, and sources.
Weight
440 gSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No accessible official product weight was retained.

IPD range
60–70 mmSources disagree

VRcompare lists 60–70 mm. VR Eddie does not give a range.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No accessible official IPD range was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Battery life
Not specifiedSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No explicit manufacturer statement supporting this field was located in the checked original sources.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Steam Frame: tracking & input, published values, confidence, and sources.
Tracking
Inside-out tracked standalone headsetSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough
MonochromeCorroborated

Built-in outward-facing cameras. The separate Arcturus Vision Camera adds color passthrough.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-29
  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-29
Eye tracking
YesCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No definitive official eye-tracking statement was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No definitive official hand-tracking statement was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Steam Frame: silicon & connection, published values, confidence, and sources.
Chipset
Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3Sources disagree

VRcompare: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3; VR Eddie: Snapdragon 8 Series.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
DisplayPort
NoSingle source

PC streaming can use the included 6GHz adapter or a 5GHz router wired directly to the PC.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-10-06
  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-10-06

Other published fields

Steam Frame: other published fields, published values, confidence, and sources.
Typical/list price
$1,059Corroborated

US price for the 256GB Kit. The 1TB Kit is $1,299. Both kits include the Steam Frame Controllers, a Wi-Fi 6E wireless adapter and Half-Life: Alyx. The power supply is not included.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-22

Valve's store shows regional pricing, so the USD figure could not be read from the manufacturer page directly. It is corroborated across independent reports of Valve's announcement.

  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-22