Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Pimax Crystal Light vs Pimax Crystal Super

Both are wired cockpit headsets that ask for a strong PC and setup patience. The question is whether you need Super's sharper, wider view enough to pay its premium typical price.

The quick answer

Buy Crystal Super if maximum cockpit clarity is the reason you are shopping and you can support it with a strong GPU.

Crystal Light

Buy the Crystal Light if

  • You want sharp DisplayPort PC VR within a tighter budget
  • You already have a capable gaming PC
  • You accept comfort adjustments and possible tracking work
  • Super's maximum cockpit detail is not essential

Watch out forFront-heavy; stock face padding is often called mediocre

Crystal Super

Buy the Crystal Super if

  • Sim racing or flight is your main use
  • You want the strongest cockpit clarity in this catalog
  • You have a strong GPU and room for the premium typical/list price
  • You will trade comfort and setup effort for the sharper, wider view

Watch out forHeavy enough that many owners want comfort mods for longer sessions

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryCrystal LightCrystal Super
Overall6982
Clarity9495
Field of view95100
Comfort5880
BatteryNo batteryNo battery
Tracking3376
Ease of setup3030

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceCrystal Light typically costs $900 less than Crystal Super.
  2. 02SharpnessCrystal Super has 78% more pixels per eye than Crystal Light, so text and small details look crisper.
  3. 03ComfortCrystal Super is 235 g lighter than Crystal Light on your face.
  4. 04ViewCrystal Super shows 17° more side to side than Crystal Light, going by the makers' figures.
  5. 05SetupCrystal Light needs a gaming PC.
  6. 06SetupCrystal Super needs a gaming PC.

Our verdict

Our verdict

It is the stronger sim-racing and flight choice, with a sharper, wider view and a DisplayPort connection. Crystal Light is the sensible alternative when the typical/list $699 fits your budget and Super's typical/list $1,695 to $1,799 does not. You still get a sharp DisplayPort image, but accept a lower ceiling for detail and field of view. Neither is an easy recommendation for casual room-scale play: owner reports raise comfort, tracking, and setup concerns on both. Choose Light to keep a specialist PC VR purchase within budget; choose Super when the extra cockpit detail is the feature you came to buy.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityPimax Crystal SuperSuper is the established PC VR clarity pick, while Light is the budget compromise within the family. Both use DisplayPort, so Super's advantage is the higher visual ceiling rather than escaping wireless compression that Light also avoids.
  2. Field of viewPimax Crystal SuperThe existing sim guidance favors Super's sharper, wider cockpit view over Light. This is an editorial buying distinction, based on the published specifications rather than our own measurement.
  3. Value / budgetPimax Crystal LightTypical/list $699 versus Super's $1,695 to $1,799 makes Light the more accessible specialist purchase. Its DisplayPort image can already be enough for a simmer who does not need the top-end view.

Every spec

13 of 15 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2880×2880Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
QLED + Mini-LED with local dimmingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Glass asphericSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · horizontal:
115°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

The catalog's 115° measured value is not backed by a checked manufacturer measurement.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
115°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

The catalog's 115° measured value is not backed by a checked manufacturer measurement.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
815 gSingle source

Pimax does not say whether the 815 g includes the cable and accessories.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–72 mm manual IPDSingle source

Manual physical lens-spacing adjustment.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out, optional LighthouseSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax Store · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
No passthroughSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
NoSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
Sources disagree

VRcompare: not supported; VR Eddie: supported.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No official built-in hand-tracking specification was found on the checked pages.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Compatible with high-end GPUs (RTX 3080 recommended)Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Crystal Light is PC-powered; the catalog's GPU recommendation is not an onboard chipset specification.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4a + USB 3.0Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
3840×3840 QLED; 3840×3552 Micro-OLEDSingle source

Resolution per eye varies by model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Panel:
QLED + Mini-LED (50/57/Ultrawide) or Sony Micro-OLEDSingle source

Display type varies by model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 / 120 HzSingle source

The current consumer product page lists 90 Hz and 120 Hz. Pimax's enterprise configurations list 72 Hz and 90 Hz.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14
  • Pimax Business · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Glass aspheric (QLED); ConcaveView pancake (Micro-OLED)Single source

Lens type varies by model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
127° H (50 PPD); 106° H (57 PPD); 140° H (Ultrawide); 116° H (Micro-OLED)Single source

Varies by model. Only the Ultrawide version is listed at 140° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Measured FoV · horizontal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical: Not confirmed

Fit & power

Weight:
580 gSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

The current official consumer and business spec pages do not publish a weight; the catalog's 580 g should not be promoted as official.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
IPD:
58–72 mm automatic IPDSingle source

Lenses adjust automatically.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out, optional LighthouseSingle source

Lighthouse support requires optional expansion and base stations.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
colorSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No explicit passthrough specification was found on the checked product matrices.

Eye tracking:
Yes, built inSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Hand tracking:
Sources disagree

VRcompare: not supported; VR Eddie: supported.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No built-in or optional hand-tracking statement was found on the checked official pages.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset: Not confirmed
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4 + USBSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Crystal Light2880×2880Crystal Super3840×3840
Crystal Super: 127°127°Crystal Light: 110°110°
Crystal Light110°Crystal Super127°
Crystal Light: 115°115°
Crystal Light115°
Crystal Light: 115°115°
Crystal Light115°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Pimax Crystal Light

You needA gaming PC

Typically$899

Full dossier →

Pimax Crystal Super

You needA gaming PC

Typically$1,799

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Is Crystal Super worth the extra money over Light?

Yes if you are buying primarily for maximum sim clarity and field of view. Light is the better budget choice when its DisplayPort cockpit image is already enough and the rest of your PC setup also needs funding.

Do I need a gaming PC for both?

Yes, both are PC VR headsets with no standalone game library. The existing guidance calls for a capable PC on Light and a strong GPU for Super; do not spend the entire budget on the headset.

Does Super solve Light's tracking problems?

Do not buy it on that assumption. Owners also report Super tracking problems, especially with precise controller games, so the upgrade is for the image rather than guaranteed tracking reliability.

Will I need base stations with Crystal Light?

The catalog's tracking sources disagree, so do not infer the included setup from that field alone. The editorial describes stock inside-out use and an optional lighthouse faceplate path that some owners found improved reliability.

Which is comfortable enough for long races?

Neither earns an unconditional stock-comfort recommendation. Light owners report front-heavy fit and weak padding, while Super owners also describe weight and warmth; plan for fit adjustments on either.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Crystal Light

Typically$899

Buy on Amazon
Crystal Super

Typically$1,799

Buy on Amazon