Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Bigscreen Beyond 2 vs Pimax Crystal Super

Both belong beside a capable gaming PC, but they solve different problems. Beyond 2 reduces what you wear on your face; Crystal Super prioritizes the cockpit picture even when comfort suffers.

The quick answer

Buy Beyond 2 if long-session comfort is the reason you are replacing your PC VR headset.

Beyond 2

Buy the Beyond 2 if

  • Headset weight is what cuts your sessions short
  • You already have a capable PC and SteamVR lighthouse gear
  • You want micro-OLED blacks in a tiny custom-fitted headset
  • You accept a face scan and a wired SteamVR setup

Watch out forPCVR only, with no standalone library or wireless Meta-style use

Crystal Super

Buy the Crystal Super if

  • Sim racing or flight is your main use
  • Maximum cockpit sharpness matters more than headset bulk
  • You have a strong GPU and accept Pimax setup work
  • You can tolerate comfort mods and controller-tracking compromises

Watch out forHeavy enough that many owners want comfort mods for longer sessions

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryBeyond 2Crystal Super
Overall7182
Clarity8795
Field of view87100
Comfort10080
BatteryNo batteryNo battery
Tracking3376
Ease of setup030

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceBeyond 2 typically costs $840 less than Crystal Super.
  2. 02SharpnessCrystal Super has 125% more pixels per eye than Beyond 2, so text and small details look crisper.
  3. 03ComfortBeyond 2 is 473 g lighter than Crystal Super on your face.
  4. 04ViewCrystal Super shows 19° more side to side than Beyond 2, going by the makers' figures.
  5. 05SetupBeyond 2 needs a gaming PC and SteamVR base stations.
  6. 06SetupCrystal Super needs a gaming PC.

Our verdict

Our verdict

Its tiny, custom-fitted micro-OLED design is the stronger choice when headset bulk ends your sessions, provided you accept the face scan and lighthouse setup. Buy Crystal Super if you mainly sit in a racing or flight rig and maximum clarity and field of view matter more than weight. It is the stronger cockpit recommendation, with owner praise for sharp detail over DisplayPort, but repeated complaints about heat and heaviness. Its controller-tracking reports also make it a less convincing choice for precise standing games than its picture alone suggests. Neither is a casual standalone purchase, and Beyond's lower typical/list price should not make you forget the capable PC and base-station equipment it needs.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityPimax Crystal SuperCrystal Super is the stronger choice for maximum PC VR detail, particularly cockpit use. Beyond 2 has strong micro-OLED clarity of its own, but its deciding advantage in this matchup is size and fit rather than the sharpest sim picture.
  2. Comfort / long sessionsBigscreen Beyond 2Beyond 2's 115 g catalog weight and custom facial fit directly address long-session wear. Crystal Super owners repeatedly describe a heavy, warm headset and the need for comfort modifications.
  3. PC VRPimax Crystal SuperFor a seated racing or flight rig, Crystal Super's sharpness, field of view, and DisplayPort path make it the stronger recommendation. Both are wired PC VR headsets, and this criterion covers seated sim use only.
  4. Value / budgetBigscreen Beyond 2Beyond 2 has a typical/list price of $959 against Crystal Super's $1,695 to $1,799. That favors Beyond for someone already equipped with lighthouse gear, but the headset list price is not the full setup budget for a new PC VR owner.

Every spec

16 of 16 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2560×2560Single source

Panel resolution at both refresh modes; the 90 Hz transport uses DSC and an upscaled 1920×1920 signal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
Dual micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
75 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Custom pancake opticsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
108°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Fit & power

Weight:
107 gSingle source

Headset only. The cable, face cushion and strap add weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
53–70 mm physical; 48–75 mm accommodatedSingle source

Each lens adjusts independently. The 48–75 mm range describes supported eye spacing, not lens travel.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
SteamVR 1.0/2.0 base stations requiredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
noneCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

The checked official spec does not provide a passthrough field; absence of onboard tracking cameras is not itself a formal passthrough claim.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking:
No on Beyond 2; yes on Beyond 2eSingle source

Eye tracking is available on Beyond 2e, not this model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Bigscreen does not state native optical hand tracking; controller requirements are documented separately.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset: Not confirmed
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4 plus two USB 3.0 portsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal:
116°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
3840×3840 QLED; 3840×3552 Micro-OLEDSingle source

Resolution per eye varies by model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Panel:
QLED + Mini-LED (50/57/Ultrawide) or Sony Micro-OLEDSingle source

Display type varies by model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 / 120 HzSingle source

The current consumer product page lists 90 Hz and 120 Hz. Pimax's enterprise configurations list 72 Hz and 90 Hz.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14
  • Pimax Business · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Glass aspheric (QLED); ConcaveView pancake (Micro-OLED)Single source

Lens type varies by model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
127° H (50 PPD); 106° H (57 PPD); 140° H (Ultrawide); 116° H (Micro-OLED)Single source

Varies by model. Only the Ultrawide version is listed at 140° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Measured FoV · horizontal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical: Not confirmed

Fit & power

Weight:
580 gSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

The current official consumer and business spec pages do not publish a weight; the catalog's 580 g should not be promoted as official.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
IPD:
58–72 mm automatic IPDSingle source

Lenses adjust automatically.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out, optional LighthouseSingle source

Lighthouse support requires optional expansion and base stations.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
colorSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No explicit passthrough specification was found on the checked product matrices.

Eye tracking:
Yes, built inSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Hand tracking:
Sources disagree

VRcompare: not supported; VR Eddie: supported.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No built-in or optional hand-tracking statement was found on the checked official pages.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset: Not confirmed
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4 + USBSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Beyond 22560×2560Crystal Super3840×3840
Crystal Super: 127°127°Beyond 2: 108°108°
Beyond 2108°Crystal Super127°
Beyond 2: 108°108°
Beyond 2108°
Beyond 2: 96°96°
Beyond 296°
Beyond 2: 96°96°
Beyond 296°
Beyond 2: 116°116°
Beyond 2116°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Bigscreen Beyond 2

You needA gaming PC and SteamVR base stations

Typically$959

Full dossier →

Pimax Crystal Super

You needA gaming PC

Typically$1,799

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Which should I buy for sim racing or flight?

Choose Crystal Super if cockpit clarity and field of view are your priorities and you have a strong GPU. Choose Beyond 2 instead if wearing a bulky headset is what prevents you from enjoying longer sessions. That is a comfort tradeoff. Crystal Super still has the sharper cockpit picture.

Do I need a gaming PC for both?

Yes, both are PC VR headsets with no standalone games library. Beyond 2 also needs SteamVR lighthouse gear, while Crystal Super requires you to be comfortable with Pimax's PC setup and software.

Is Beyond 2 cheaper once I buy everything?

Its typical/list headset price is lower, but that alone does not establish the complete system budget. Beyond 2 needs a capable PC and lighthouse equipment, so the value case is strongest if you already own those. The catalog does not provide a complete accessory-package comparison.

Is Crystal Super good for standing controller games?

Its owner reports make it a cautious recommendation for that use. Several describe poor controller or SLAM tracking during precise play, whereas seated sim owners are often happier. Buy it primarily for the cockpit picture rather than assuming it is the better all-purpose PC VR headset.

Does Beyond 2's custom fit mean it will be perfect for me?

No fit is guaranteed, but the custom facial interface and very low weight are central to its long-session appeal. You need to complete the face-scan process, and it is not a simple shared headset for friends. Some owners also still notice glare despite the improved optics.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Beyond 2

Typically$959

Buy at Bigscreen
Crystal Super

Typically$1,799

Buy on Amazon