Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Bigscreen Beyond vs Bigscreen Beyond 2

The original Beyond already delivered a tiny micro-OLED headset. Beyond 2's reason to exist is a more usable view through that small design, especially when you move your eyes around a cockpit.

The quick answer

Buy Beyond 2 if you are choosing a Beyond today for long PC VR sessions.

Beyond

Buy the Beyond if

  • A used deal is compelling enough to accept the older optics
  • You have verified that the personal fit works for you
  • You already have a strong PC and lighthouse hardware
  • Your existing original Beyond still meets your needs

Watch out forSuperseded by Beyond 2, which is now the locked ultralight winner

Beyond 2

Buy the Beyond 2 if

  • You are buying into Beyond for long PC VR sessions
  • You want the improved lenses and larger usable sweet spot
  • You accept the face-scan and custom-fit ordering process
  • You want the newer ultralight choice while accepting some glare

Watch out forPCVR only, with no standalone library or wireless Meta-style use

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryBeyondBeyond 2
Overall6871
Clarity8787
Field of view7087
Comfort96100
BatteryNo batteryNo battery
Tracking3333
Ease of setup00

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceBeyond 2 typically costs $40 less than Beyond.
  2. 02ViewBeyond 2 shows 15° more side to side than Beyond, going by the makers' figures.
  3. 03SetupBeyond needs a gaming PC and SteamVR base stations.
  4. 04SetupBeyond 2 needs a gaming PC and SteamVR base stations.

Our verdict

Our verdict

The original is out of production, so it belongs in a used-market discussion rather than a current new-retail shortlist. Beyond 2 keeps the micro-OLED approach while improving the lenses and usable sweet spot in owner reports, which matters more here than panel resolution. Both list 2560×2560 per eye, so you are not buying a pixel-count increase. Consider the original only for a strong used deal when its personal fit works for you and you accept the small sweet spot and glare. Both require a strong PC and lighthouse setup, and Beyond 2 still does not promise glare-free viewing. If your existing Beyond is comfortable and its optics do not bother you, there is no need to upgrade just because the successor exists.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityBigscreen Beyond 2Owners moving from the original describe a larger sweet spot and easier viewing with eye movement. Both list 2560×2560 per eye, so this is an optics advantage rather than a resolution increase.
  2. Comfort / long sessionsBigscreen Beyond 2Beyond 2 is the established ultralight long-session pick, combining a tiny custom-fitted shell with the more usable optics. The original is also very light, but its narrow sweet spot can make cable-induced movement more disruptive.
  3. PC VRBigscreen Beyond 2A tie in the basic platform: both are wired DisplayPort SteamVR headsets requiring a strong PC and base stations. Beyond 2 is the preferred new purchase for its fit-and-optics package, not a different game library.

Every spec

11 of 17 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2560×2560Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
Dual micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
75 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Custom pancake opticsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
93°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Bigscreen's official 102° claim does not identify an axis; the catalog's 93° H is not supported by this manufacturer page.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
97.53°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No official source for the catalog's measured horizontal value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
88.55°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No official source for the catalog's measured vertical value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
127 gSingle source

Headset only. The face cushion, strap, cable and audio accessories add weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
Fixed lens spacing: 55–72 mm; fits IPDs of 53–74 mmSingle source

Custom-built in one of 18 fixed sizes. Lens spacing cannot be adjusted after purchase.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
SteamVR base stations requiredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
noneCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No explicit passthrough specification was found in the checked first-generation sources.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

No explicit first-generation eye-tracking yes/no specification was found on the checked product page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No native hand-tracking statement was found on the checked official pages.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset: Not confirmed
DisplayPort:
Wired PC VR connectionSingle source

Check Bigscreen's setup guide for the required ports.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified:
102°Single source

Bigscreen does not specify the direction of this measurement. Sizes with 70–72 mm lens spacing have a smaller field of view.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2560×2560Single source

Panel resolution at both refresh modes; the 90 Hz transport uses DSC and an upscaled 1920×1920 signal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
Dual micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
75 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Custom pancake opticsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
108°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Fit & power

Weight:
107 gSingle source

Headset only. The cable, face cushion and strap add weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
53–70 mm physical; 48–75 mm accommodatedSingle source

Each lens adjusts independently. The 48–75 mm range describes supported eye spacing, not lens travel.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
SteamVR 1.0/2.0 base stations requiredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
noneCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

The checked official spec does not provide a passthrough field; absence of onboard tracking cameras is not itself a formal passthrough claim.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking:
No on Beyond 2; yes on Beyond 2eSingle source

Eye tracking is available on Beyond 2e, not this model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Bigscreen does not state native optical hand tracking; controller requirements are documented separately.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset: Not confirmed
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4 plus two USB 3.0 portsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal:
116°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Beyond2560×2560Beyond 22560×2560
Beyond 2: 108°108°Beyond: 93°93°
Beyond93°Beyond 2108°
Beyond 2: 108°108°Beyond: 97.53°97.53°
Beyond97.53°Beyond 2108°
Beyond 2: 96°96°
Beyond 296°
Beyond 2: 96°96°Beyond: 88.55°88.55°
Beyond88.55°Beyond 296°
Beyond 2: 116°116°
Beyond 2116°
Beyond: 102°102°
Beyond102°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Bigscreen Beyond

You needA gaming PC and SteamVR base stations

Typically$999

Full dossier →

Bigscreen Beyond 2

You needA gaming PC and SteamVR base stations

Typically$959

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Should I upgrade my original Beyond to Beyond 2?

Yes if the small sweet spot or difficulty looking around with your eyes is frustrating you. If your original already fits well and its glare is tolerable, the unchanged listed panel resolution gives you a reason to keep using it.

Has Beyond 2 fixed the glare?

Not completely. Some owners report an improvement or little trouble, while others still notice glare; expect better optics rather than a guarantee of clean dark scenes.

Is a used original Beyond a sensible bargain?

Only with a meaningful saving and a verified fit plan. The original is out of production and relies on a custom facial interface and factory-set IPD, so another person's unit should not be assumed to fit you.

Do both need a gaming PC and base stations?

Yes, both are PC VR-only lighthouse headsets. Neither runs standalone games or offers Quest-style wireless freedom.

Does Beyond 2 have higher-resolution screens?

No, both list 2560×2560 per eye. The reason to pay for the successor is the improved lens experience and newer ultralight design, not more panel pixels.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Beyond

Typically$999

Details →
Beyond 2

Typically$959

Buy at Bigscreen