Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Bigscreen Beyond 2 vs Pimax Dream Air

These are both light micro-OLED headsets for people committed to wired PC VR. The question is whether Dream Air's higher panel resolution is worth its premium and more uncertain fit experience.

The quick answer

Buy Beyond 2 if you want a tiny PC VR headset mainly to make long sessions easier.

Beyond 2

Buy the Beyond 2 if

  • Low weight and long-session comfort are your main priorities
  • You already use SteamVR lighthouse equipment
  • You are willing to complete a face scan for custom fit
  • You prefer the lower typical/list headset price

Watch out forPCVR only, with no standalone library or wireless Meta-style use

Dream Air

Buy the Dream Air if

  • Higher micro-OLED panel resolution is a specific priority
  • You accept early-owner evidence rather than proven long-term reliability
  • You are prepared to change pads if the stock fit hurts
  • You tolerate Pimax software and a more awkward cable arrangement

Watch out forEarly-owner and launch-era evidence, with little long-term owner time

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryBeyond 2Dream Air
Overall7183
Clarity8790
Field of view8790
Comfort10099
BatteryNo batteryNo battery
Tracking3376
Ease of setup030

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01SharpnessDream Air has 108% more pixels per eye than Beyond 2, so text and small details look crisper.
  2. 02ComfortBeyond 2 is 63 g lighter than Dream Air on your face.
  3. 03SetupBeyond 2 needs a gaming PC and SteamVR base stations.
  4. 04SetupDream Air needs a gaming PC.
  5. 05Eye trackingOnly Dream Air tracks your eyes, which lets supported games draw the spot you look at in more detail.

Our verdict

Our verdict

Its custom facial fit, low weight, and existing editorial support make it the stronger comfort recommendation, especially if you already own SteamVR lighthouse gear. Choose Dream Air if higher panel resolution and early reports of strong micro-OLED clarity matter enough to accept Pimax software and fit quirks. Its typical/list price is $1999 against Beyond 2's $959, so that choice needs a specific visual priority. Some early Dream Air owners love the balance, while others find the rigid strap and facial interface painful until they change pads. Beyond 2 still has a face-scan process and mixed glare reports, so neither should be bought on the assumption that small automatically means effortless.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityPimax Dream AirDream Air gets a qualified edge from its higher catalog panel resolution and early owner praise for detail. Its resolution is single-source, and reports still mention off-center aberration, so this is not proof of uniformly better edge-to-edge optics than Beyond 2.
  2. Comfort / long sessionsBigscreen Beyond 2Beyond 2 combines very low weight with custom facial fit and remains the long-session recommendation. Dream Air is also light, but early reports split between excellent balance and painful forehead pressure from the rigid strap and interface.
  3. Value / budgetBigscreen Beyond 2Typical/list prices are $959 for Beyond 2 and $1999 for Dream Air. Beyond is the more convincing comfort purchase for an existing lighthouse owner; newcomers still need to account for its PC and tracking equipment.
  4. PC VRBigscreen Beyond 2Close to a tie in basic purpose: both are wired PC-powered headsets with Steam support and no standalone store. Beyond gets the recommendation for a lighthouse owner prioritizing long sessions, while Dream Air asks that buyer to accept early software, cabling, and fit concerns for its display appeal.

Every spec

18 of 18 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2560×2560Single source

Panel resolution at both refresh modes; the 90 Hz transport uses DSC and an upscaled 1920×1920 signal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
Dual micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
75 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
Custom pancake opticsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
108°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Fit & power

Weight:
107 gSingle source

Headset only. The cable, face cushion and strap add weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
53–70 mm physical; 48–75 mm accommodatedSingle source

Each lens adjusts independently. The 48–75 mm range describes supported eye spacing, not lens travel.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life: Not confirmed

Tracking & input

Tracking:
SteamVR 1.0/2.0 base stations requiredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
noneCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

The checked official spec does not provide a passthrough field; absence of onboard tracking cameras is not itself a formal passthrough claim.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking:
No on Beyond 2; yes on Beyond 2eSingle source

Eye tracking is available on Beyond 2e, not this model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Bigscreen does not state native optical hand tracking; controller requirements are documented separately.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset: Not confirmed
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4 plus two USB 3.0 portsSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal:
116°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Bigscreen · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
3840×3552Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Panel:
Sony Micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Measured FoV · horizontal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical: Not confirmed

Fit & power

Weight:
Under 170 g headset onlySingle source

Headset only. Excludes the cable and fit accessories.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–72 mmSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
No onboard battery; PC-poweredSingle source

Powered by a connected PC; no standalone battery life.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Lighthouse Edition or inside-out SLAM EditionSingle source

Two separately sold configurations; Lighthouse needs one or two base stations, SLAM does not.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
colorSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Pimax's checked Dream Air page does not publish passthrough capability despite listing SLAM cameras.

Eye tracking:
Yes, built in at 120 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Hand tracking:
Sources disagree

VRcompare: supported; VR Eddie: not supported.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No hand-tracking specification was found on the checked official product page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
PC-powered; no standalone application chipsetSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
DisplayPort 1.4a + USB 3.0Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Pimax · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Beyond 22560×2560Dream Air3840×3552
Dream Air: 110°110°Beyond 2: 108°108°
Beyond 2108°Dream Air110°
Beyond 2: 108°108°
Beyond 2108°
Beyond 2: 96°96°
Beyond 296°
Beyond 2: 96°96°
Beyond 296°
Beyond 2: 116°116°
Beyond 2116°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Bigscreen Beyond 2

You needA gaming PC and SteamVR base stations

Typically$959

Full dossier →

Pimax Dream Air

You needA gaming PC

Typically$1,999–$2,299 by edition

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Is Dream Air worth the premium over Beyond 2?

Only if its higher panel resolution and early visual reports address a priority you already have. Beyond 2 is the stronger recommendation for low weight and long-session comfort at a lower typical/list price. Dream Air's fit and software caveats make it a deliberate enthusiast choice.

Can I use either without a gaming PC?

No, both depend on a capable PC and are intended for wired PC VR. Neither gives you a standalone app store or Quest-style wireless use.

Do both need base stations?

Beyond 2 requires SteamVR lighthouse base stations. Dream Air's catalog tracking entry is disputed and some owner reports concern a lighthouse version, so this evidence does not establish one requirement for every configuration. Confirm the specific Dream Air configuration before choosing tracking equipment.

Which is more comfortable for a long session?

Beyond 2 is the recommended choice, with its very low weight and custom fit. Dream Air owners disagree sharply: some praise its balance, while others need different pads to relieve forehead pressure. Low headset weight alone does not settle the fit question.

Should I wait for more Dream Air reviews?

Yes, if you need confidence in long-term daily use. The repo's Dream Air evidence is still dominated by launch and early-owner reports, with strong visual impressions but divided comfort experiences. Beyond 2 is the better-supported long-session choice here, though its custom fit and glare caveats still apply.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Beyond 2

Typically$959

Buy at Bigscreen
Dream Air

Typically$1,999–$2,299 by edition

Buy at Pimax