Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Pico 4 vs Pico 4 Ultra

Ultra is mainly a passthrough and streaming upgrade, not a jump in panel resolution. Whether it is worth buying depends on what the original Pico 4 is failing to do for you.

The quick answer

Buy Pico 4 if you mainly want pancake optics and wireless PC VR at the lower typical/list $429.

Pico 4

Buy the Pico 4 if

  • Wireless PC VR is your main use
  • You want the lower typical/list price
  • Mixed reality is only an occasional extra
  • You already have a Pico 4 that meets your needs

Watch out forWeaker U.S. store, retail, and warranty coverage than Quest, and availability varies by region

Pico 4 Ultra

Buy the Pico 4 Ultra if

  • You regularly use passthrough and mixed reality
  • The original Pico 4's streaming limits bother you
  • You want the Pico refresh and accept the higher typical/list price
  • You have local Pico support and have checked your game library

Watch out forNot Quest 3 for most people: a thinner store and weaker U.S. retail and support

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryPico 4Pico 4 Ultra
Overall7582
Clarity7878
Field of view8183
Comfort7980
Battery3085
Tracking7377
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PricePico 4 typically costs $170 less than Pico 4 Ultra.

Our verdict

Our verdict

Choose Pico 4 Ultra at a typical/list $599 if mixed reality is a regular use or the original's streaming limits already frustrate you. Both list the same per-eye resolution and both use pancake lenses, so the upgrade is not justified by a larger pixel count. Owners who moved to Ultra describe worthwhile passthrough and streaming improvements, how much you gain depends on your router and PC. Both have a smaller standalone library than Meta and require attention to regional support. If you already like your Pico 4 for SteamVR, keep it unless you can name an Ultra improvement you will use.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. Value / budgetPico 4Typical/list $429 versus Ultra's $599 is persuasive when pancake wireless PC VR is all you need. Paying more makes sense only if you use the refresh's MR or streaming improvements.
  2. Mixed realityPico 4 UltraThe existing editorial identifies Ultra as the passthrough refresh, with owners describing regular use. That is a clearer reason to upgrade than the unchanged panel resolution.
  3. PC VRPico 4 UltraUpgrading owners report more wireless streaming headroom than on Pico 4. This is a qualified owner-experience advantage: both stream PC VR, neither has DisplayPort, and Pico 4 can already be sufficient.
  4. ClarityPico 4 UltraClose on the core optics: both use pancake lenses and 2160×2160 per eye. Some upgrading owners prefer Ultra's image, but there is no panel-resolution increase to sell as the reason.

Every spec

12 of 18 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2160×2160Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
Dual 2.56-inch Fast-LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
104°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

PICO's 105° FoV is not axis-labelled.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
104°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer source for the catalog measured horizontal value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
104°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer source for the catalog measured vertical value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
586 gCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

The checked official consumer specification did not expose a product-weight value; do not reuse the catalog's 586 g as manufacturer-backed.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
IPD:
62–72 mm continuous motorized IPDSingle source

Physical optic adjustment controlled through the headset settings menu.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
3 hoursSources disagree

VRcompare: 3 hours; VR Eddie: 3450 mAh, about 2 hours.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out 6DoF headset and controller trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
Color see-throughSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

No explicit eye-tracking yes/no specification appears on the checked consumer page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking:
YesCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No explicit consumer hand-tracking claim appears on the checked page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 1Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Only USB-C accessories are listed; no formal DisplayPort yes/no specification was found.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity:
5300 mAhSingle source

Battery capacity; PICO does not give battery life on this specification page.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified:
105°Single source

PICO does not say whether this is horizontal, vertical or diagonal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2160×2160Single source

Physical display resolution; PICO separately lists 1920×1920 rendering resolution per eye.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
Dual 2.56-inch LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 HzSingle source

PICO's separate 72 Hz figure describes camera timing, not the display refresh rate.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
105°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

PICO's 105° FoV has no stated axis.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
105°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement corresponding to the catalog measured horizontal value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
105°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement corresponding to the catalog measured vertical value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
580 gSingle source

304 g front including foam pad plus 276 g rear including straps, battery compartment and cushion; ±3 g.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–72 mm continuous IPDSingle source

Physical pupil-distance adjustment.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
3420 mAh, ~2.5 hoursSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out with four environment camerasSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
Dual 32 MP color see-through plus iToF depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

No eye-tracking camera or yes/no statement appears in the checked PICO 4 Ultra consumer specifications.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source

PanoScreen supports interaction through hands as well as controllers and peripherals.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

PICO documents wireless PC streaming and USB-C charging/data but no native DisplayPort input.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity:
5700 mAh rated / 5770 mAh typicalSingle source

Battery capacity; this does not establish how long a charge lasts.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified:
105°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Pico 42160×2160Pico 4 Ultra2160×2160
Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°Pico 4: 104°104°
Pico 4104°Pico 4 Ultra105°
Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°Pico 4: 104°104°
Pico 4104°Pico 4 Ultra105°
Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°Pico 4: 104°104°
Pico 4104°Pico 4 Ultra105°
Pico 4: 105°105°Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°
Pico 4105°Pico 4 Ultra105°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Pico 4

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$429

Full dossier →

Pico 4 Ultra

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Is Pico 4 Ultra worth upgrading to?

Yes if you regularly use mixed reality or have run into the original's streaming limits. If Pico 4 already handles your PC VR comfortably, the same listed panel resolution is a good reason to resist upgrading on specifications alone.

Does Ultra have sharper screens?

Both list 2160×2160 per eye and pancake lenses. Some owners prefer Ultra's image and streaming behavior, but you are not buying more panel pixels.

Can both play SteamVR games wirelessly?

Yes, with a capable gaming PC. Pico 4 owners already praise Virtual Desktop, while upgrading owners report more streaming headroom on Ultra; neither is a DisplayPort headset.

Do I need a PC for standalone games?

No, both have a standalone Pico library. It is smaller than Meta's, so check your intended games before choosing either.

Does Ultra solve Pico's U.S. support problem?

No, regional availability and warranty remain buying considerations for both. Ultra is a hardware refresh, not a reason to assume the mainstream U.S. support path is now equivalent to Quest.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Pico 4

Typically$429

Buy on Amazon
Pico 4 Ultra

Typically$599

Buy on Amazon