Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Meta Quest 3 vs Pico 4

Both offer pancake lenses and wireless PC VR. The choice is Meta's broader software and support versus Pico's lower typical price and better stock balance in owner reports.

The quick answer

Buy Quest 3 if this will be your main standalone headset.

Quest 3

Buy the Quest 3 if

  • Standalone games will be your main use
  • You want the safer mixed-reality ecosystem
  • Straightforward U.S. support matters
  • You want one headset for standalone and optional wireless PC VR

Watch out forStock strap is a common first complaint; budget a better one

Pico 4

Buy the Pico 4 if

  • You mainly play a PC SteamVR library wirelessly
  • You live in a Pico-supported region
  • Stock front-to-back balance matters to you
  • The lower typical/list price matters more than the larger Quest store

Watch out forWeaker U.S. store, retail, and warranty coverage than Quest, and availability varies by region

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryQuest 3Pico 4
Overall8675
Clarity8878
Field of view9081
Comfort8579
Battery7930
Tracking7773
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PricePico 4 typically costs $171 less than Quest 3.
  2. 02ComfortQuest 3 is 71 g lighter than Pico 4 on your face.
  3. 03ViewQuest 3 shows 6° more side to side than Pico 4, going by the makers' figures.

Our verdict

Our verdict

Its deeper app library, mixed-reality software, and stronger U.S. support make it the safer general purchase at a typical/list $599. Pico 4 makes sense at a typical/list $429 if you live in a supported region and mainly want wireless SteamVR through Virtual Desktop. Owners praise its distance clarity and rear-balanced headband, particularly against Quest 3's stock strap. That does not make the smaller Pico app library or regional warranty questions disappear. Choose Pico for that specific PC VR and comfort use case; choose Quest if you want the headset to cover more kinds of play without working around the ecosystem.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. Library / standaloneMeta Quest 3Meta's deeper app library makes Quest 3 the better standalone purchase. Pico 4 is easier to justify when your main games already live on a PC.
  2. Comfort / long sessionsPico 4Owners favor Pico's front-to-back balance over Quest 3 with its stock strap. Pico's face pad and strap tension can still need adjustment, so this is a stock-balance advantage, not a fit guarantee.
  3. Value / budgetPico 4Typical/list $429 versus Quest 3's $599 buys pancake optics and wireless PC VR for less. That saving is most persuasive where Pico has local support and you do not need Meta's larger standalone library.
  4. Mixed realityMeta Quest 3Both have color passthrough, but Quest 3 has the stronger mixed-reality software case. Pico 4's editorial points buyers who prioritize passthrough toward an upgrade.

Every spec

16 of 19 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2064×2208Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes. Higher developer-only rates use separate display-scaling settings.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 2 more
▲ Leads

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Current Meta device specifications list 110° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more

Meta's product page also lists 104°. The current developer specification is used as the catalog value.

Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Sources disagree

Horizontal figures differ: VR Headset Picker reports 108° measured; VRcompare estimates 103.8°; VR Eddie lists 110°. Vertical figures are 98.25° and 96.4° respectively from VR Headset Picker and VRcompare.

Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
98.25°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
515 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap. Other straps and accessories change the weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–70 mm mechanical; 53–75 mm supportedSingle source

Continuous lens adjustment. The supported IPD range is wider than the lenses' adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.2 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD), with depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Meta lists USB-C and Link/Air Link support, but the checked page does not phrase this as a formal no-DisplayPort specification.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2160×2160Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Panel:
Dual 2.56-inch Fast-LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 90 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
104°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

PICO's 105° FoV is not axis-labelled.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
104°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer source for the catalog measured horizontal value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
104°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer source for the catalog measured vertical value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
586 gCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

The checked official consumer specification did not expose a product-weight value; do not reuse the catalog's 586 g as manufacturer-backed.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
IPD:
62–72 mm continuous motorized IPDSingle source

Physical optic adjustment controlled through the headset settings menu.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
3 hoursSources disagree

VRcompare: 3 hours; VR Eddie: 3450 mAh, about 2 hours.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out 6DoF headset and controller trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
Color see-throughSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

No explicit eye-tracking yes/no specification appears on the checked consumer page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking:
YesCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No explicit consumer hand-tracking claim appears on the checked page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 1Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Only USB-C accessories are listed; no formal DisplayPort yes/no specification was found.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity:
5300 mAhSingle source

Battery capacity; PICO does not give battery life on this specification page.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified:
105°Single source

PICO does not say whether this is horizontal, vertical or diagonal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Quest 32064×2208Pico 42160×2160
Quest 3: 110°110°Pico 4: 104°104°
Quest 3110°Pico 4104°
Quest 3: 108°108°Pico 4: 104°104°
Quest 3108°Pico 4104°
Quest 3: 96°96°
Quest 396°
Pico 4: 104°104°Quest 3: 98.25°98.25°
Quest 398.25°Pico 4104°
Pico 4: 105°105°
Pico 4105°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Meta Quest 3

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599.99

Full dossier →

Pico 4

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$429

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Which should I buy for wireless SteamVR?

Pico 4 is a reasonable value choice in a supported region, with owner reports praising Virtual Desktop clarity. Quest 3 is the safer choice if you also want a broad standalone library; neither has DisplayPort.

Do I need a PC for Pico 4?

No, it has standalone games, as does Quest 3. You need a capable gaming PC for SteamVR streaming, and Pico's standalone library is smaller than Meta's.

Is Pico 4 more comfortable than Quest 3?

Owners often prefer its stock weight distribution. The face pad can still need replacing or careful adjustment, while Quest 3 commonly benefits from a better strap.

Should I import Pico 4 into the U.S.?

Only if you accept the warranty and support complications for its specific advantages. Quest 3 is the safer general recommendation for a U.S. buyer.

Is Quest 3 worth the higher typical price?

Yes if standalone games and mixed reality are why you are buying. If you mainly stream a PC library and have local Pico support, Pico 4 gives you a credible reason to spend less.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Quest 3

Typically$599.99

Buy on Amazon
Pico 4

Typically$429

Buy on Amazon