Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Apple Vision Pro vs Meta Quest 3

The original M2 Vision Pro is a spatial computer for Apple users; Quest 3 is a headset for playing and trying a wider range of VR. The question is whether Apple windows and media are worth making the whole purchase about.

The quick answer

Buy Quest 3 for most uses, especially games, everyday mixed reality, and a first headset.

Vision Pro

Buy the Vision Pro if

  • Mac and iPhone continuity is central to your workflow
  • Sharp spatial windows and immersive media are your main uses
  • You specifically want Apple's eye-and-hand interface
  • You accept premium list pricing and front-heavy fit

Watch out forEnterprise price. Meta Quest 3 remains the value, games, and first-headset pick

Quest 3

Buy the Quest 3 if

  • You want a primary VR gaming headset
  • This is your first headset and you want room to explore
  • You want everyday mixed reality at a mainstream list price
  • Optional wireless PC VR matters to you

Watch out forStock strap is a common first complaint; budget a better one

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryVision ProQuest 3
Overall8586
Clarity9088
Field of view7590
Comfort7585
Battery7579
Tracking9777
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceQuest 3 typically costs $2,899 less than Vision Pro.
  2. 02SharpnessVision Pro has 157% more pixels per eye than Quest 3, so text and small details look crisper.
  3. 03PictureVision Pro uses an OLED panel, with true blacks and richer dark scenes than the LCD in Quest 3.
  4. 04ComfortQuest 3 is 110 g lighter than Vision Pro on your face.
  5. 05ViewQuest 3 shows 10° more side to side than Vision Pro, going by the makers' figures.
  6. 06Eye trackingOnly Vision Pro tracks your eyes, which lets supported games draw the spot you look at in more detail.

Our verdict

Our verdict

Its typical/list price is $599 against the original Vision Pro's $3499, and its deeper games library gives most buyers more to do. Buy the M2 Vision Pro only when sharp spatial windows, immersive media, and Mac and iPhone continuity are the point of the purchase. Its micro-OLED display and eye-and-hand interface support that specific use well, but they do not turn it into a Quest replacement. Face pressure, front weight, and the external battery also need to fit how you expect to use it. Quest 3 needs its own strap and battery planning for longer sessions, but it remains the more sensible starting point when you want a headset for several things.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityApple Vision ProVision Pro's micro-OLED panels and higher per-eye resolution favor text, video, and spatial windows. The sharp center does not mean an unlimited view: its editorial notes that the edges can feel tight.
  2. Library / standaloneMeta Quest 3Both work standalone, but Quest 3 is the stronger general purchase because its VR games library is much deeper. Vision Pro's strength is Apple spatial apps and media rather than replacing that library.
  3. Value / budgetMeta Quest 3At typical/list prices of $599 for Quest 3 and $3499 for Vision Pro, Quest gives most buyers the more useful mix of games, MR, and optional PC VR. Apple's premium needs a specific spatial-computing purpose.
  4. Mixed realityMeta Quest 3Quest 3 is the everyday MR pick because usable color passthrough comes with an established app library and mainstream pricing. Vision Pro's spatial placement and Apple integration serve a narrower premium workflow.

Every spec

15 of 18 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
3660×3200Corroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Apple publishes 23 million pixels across the display system, not the catalog's exact 3660×3200-per-eye raster.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Panel:
Micro-OLED, 23 million pixels totalSingle source

Apple gives the total pixel count, not the exact resolution of each eye's display.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 / 96 / 100 HzSingle source

Applies to the 2024 M2 model; 120 Hz belongs to the M5 model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Apple's checked official specification does not name the lens architecture.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Apple publishes no FoV number in the checked M2 technical specifications; the catalog's 100° is not manufacturer-supported.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement supports the catalog measured horizontal value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement supports the catalog measured vertical value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
600–650 gSingle source

Configured-device range includes Light Seal/head band; separate battery weighs 353 g.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
51–75 mm supported IPDSingle source

Supported eye spacing; this is not a manual lens-adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2 hoursSingle source

Uses an external battery and works while plugged in. The 2.5-hour rating is for video playback.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Eye, hand and head trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
colorCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Apple describes high-resolution cameras and seeing the surrounding world but does not expose a catalog-style color passthrough specification on the checked page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Apple M2 and R1Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No formal DisplayPort yes/no field was found in the checked Apple specification.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical):
$3,499Single source

US launch price for the M2 model. This model has been replaced by the M5 version.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2064×2208Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes. Higher developer-only rates use separate display-scaling settings.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 2 more
▲ Leads

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Current Meta device specifications list 110° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more

Meta's product page also lists 104°. The current developer specification is used as the catalog value.

Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Sources disagree

Horizontal figures differ: VR Headset Picker reports 108° measured; VRcompare estimates 103.8°; VR Eddie lists 110°. Vertical figures are 98.25° and 96.4° respectively from VR Headset Picker and VRcompare.

Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
98.25°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
515 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap. Other straps and accessories change the weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
58–70 mm mechanical; 53–75 mm supportedSingle source

Continuous lens adjustment. The supported IPD range is wider than the lenses' adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.2 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD), with depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Meta lists USB-C and Link/Air Link support, but the checked page does not phrase this as a formal no-DisplayPort specification.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Vision Pro3660×3200Quest 32064×2208
Quest 3: 110°110°Vision Pro: 100°100°
Vision Pro100°Quest 3110°
Quest 3: 108°108°Vision Pro: 100°100°
Vision Pro100°Quest 3108°
Quest 3: 96°96°
Quest 396°
Vision Pro: 100°100°Quest 3: 98.25°98.25°
Vision Pro100°Quest 398.25°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Apple Vision Pro

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$3,499

Full dossier →

Meta Quest 3

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599.99

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Is Vision Pro worth the extra money over Quest 3?

Only if Apple spatial computing and micro-OLED fidelity are your main reasons to buy. For games and everyday mixed reality, Quest 3 offers the more useful package at a much lower typical/list price.

Is this the M2 or M5 Vision Pro?

This comparison covers the original M2 Vision Pro. The M5 has a separate comparison with Quest 3, so do not read its chip improvements into this model.

Can Vision Pro replace Quest 3 for gaming?

It is a poor choice as a primary replacement for Quest gaming. Vision Pro's stronger uses are immersive media and spatial apps, while Quest has the deeper mainstream VR game library.

Do I need a Mac or PC to use them?

Both are standalone headsets, so neither needs a computer for its own apps. Mac and iPhone continuity are part of Vision Pro's appeal, while Quest 3 can optionally connect to a gaming PC for wireless PC VR.

Can I comfortably work in Vision Pro for hours?

Do not assume that from the display clarity alone. Owners report front weight and face pressure, and often change straps or battery placement to improve balance. The external battery and short session life also require power planning.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Vision Pro

Typically$3,499

Buy at Apple
Quest 3

Typically$599.99

Buy on Amazon