Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Apple Vision Pro vs Apple Vision Pro (M5)

The M5 is a performance update to the same basic Vision Pro, so buying your first one and replacing an M2 deserve different answers. The deciding question is whether spatial creation makes you wait.

The quick answer

If you are buying your first Vision Pro at the catalog's equal typical/list price of $3499, choose M5.

Vision Pro

Buy the Vision Pro if

  • You already own M2 and everyday apps feel fast enough
  • Your main uses are media and spatial windows
  • You want the original Apple spatial experience without needing M5 workloads
  • You would rather address your existing headset's fit than replace it

Watch out forEnterprise price. Meta Quest 3 remains the value, games, and first-headset pick

Vision Pro (M5)

Buy the Vision Pro (M5) if

  • You are buying your first Vision Pro at equal typical/list pricing
  • Spatial photo and scene creation are frequent tasks
  • You feel limited by M2 in sustained interactive or creative apps
  • You want the newer chip and will evaluate the band fit for yourself

Watch out forEnterprise price with no mainstream game library. Quest 3 remains the default for most people, standalone play, and everyday MR

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryVision ProVision Pro (M5)
Overall8587
Clarity90100
Field of view7575
Comfort7562
Battery7585
Tracking9797
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01ComfortVision Pro is 150 g lighter than Vision Pro (M5) on your face.

Our verdict

Our verdict

It gives you the newer chip for spatial photos, scenes, and interactive apps without changing the core Apple spatial-computing experience. Keep an M2 you already own if media, windows, and everyday use feel responsive enough; several owners report little daily difference. Choose the original M2 only when you want its established spatial experience and do not need M5 performance, since the recorded list prices give it no savings advantage. Both use the same micro-OLED panels, speakers, exterior design, passthrough cameras, and tethered battery. Dual Knit Band comfort is worth evaluating separately from replacing the headset, because fit improvements are personal and the core weight problem has not disappeared.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityApple Vision Pro (M5)Close to a tie for the actual display: both use the same micro-OLED panels. M5 gets a narrow edge from reports of clearer real phone and watch screens through passthrough, not from a higher-resolution panel or new cameras.
  2. Comfort / long sessionsApple Vision Pro (M5)The M5-associated Dual Knit Band and counterweight options help some owners reduce face pressure. That is a qualified fit advantage, not a lighter redesigned headset, and the reports do not justify replacing an M2 for comfort alone.
  3. Value / budgetApple Vision Pro (M5)For a first purchase, both catalog entries have a typical/list price of $3499, so the newer chip makes M5 the better choice at that baseline. For an existing M2 owner, keeping a headset that already meets the need is the better spending decision.
  4. Setup & ecosystemApple Vision Pro (M5)The two tie on ecosystem: both run Apple spatial computing with Mac and iPhone continuity. M5's advantage is smoother work in specific spatial and creative apps, rather than access to a different ecosystem.

Every spec

11 of 17 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
3660×3200Corroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Apple publishes 23 million pixels across the display system, not the catalog's exact 3660×3200-per-eye raster.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Panel:
Micro-OLED, 23 million pixels totalSingle source

Apple gives the total pixel count, not the exact resolution of each eye's display.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 / 96 / 100 HzSingle source

Applies to the 2024 M2 model; 120 Hz belongs to the M5 model.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Apple's checked official specification does not name the lens architecture.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Apple publishes no FoV number in the checked M2 technical specifications; the catalog's 100° is not manufacturer-supported.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement supports the catalog measured horizontal value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement supports the catalog measured vertical value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
600–650 gSingle source

Configured-device range includes Light Seal/head band; separate battery weighs 353 g.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
51–75 mm supported IPDSingle source

Supported eye spacing; this is not a manual lens-adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2 hoursSingle source

Uses an external battery and works while plugged in. The 2.5-hour rating is for video playback.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Eye, hand and head trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
colorCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Apple describes high-resolution cameras and seeing the surrounding world but does not expose a catalog-style color passthrough specification on the checked page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Eye tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Apple M2 and R1Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No formal DisplayPort yes/no field was found in the checked Apple specification.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical):
$3,499Single source

US launch price for the M2 model. This model has been replaced by the M5 version.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
3660 × 3200Corroborated

Apple gives 23 million pixels across both displays, not a figure per eye.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-28
Panel:
Micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 / 96 / 100 / 120 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Apple's checked technical specifications do not name the lens architecture.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Apple publishes no FoV number in the checked official product or specification pages; the catalog's 100° value is not manufacturer-supported.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical: Not confirmed

Fit & power

Weight:
750–800 gSingle source

Varies by configuration. The separate 353 g battery is not included.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
51–75 mm supported IPDSingle source

Supported eye spacing; this is not a manual lens-adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.5 hoursSingle source

Uses an external battery and works while charging. The three-hour rating is for video playback.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Eyes + hands + head trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
Color, with a LiDAR sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-28
Eye tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Apple M5 and R1Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-28

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Vision Pro3660×3200Vision Pro (M5)3660×3200
Vision Pro: 100°100°Vision Pro (M5): 100°100°
Vision Pro100°Vision Pro (M5)100°
Vision Pro: 100°100°
Vision Pro100°
Vision Pro: 100°100°
Vision Pro100°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Apple Vision Pro

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$3,499

Full dossier →

Apple Vision Pro (M5)

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$3,499

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Should I upgrade my M2 Vision Pro to M5?

Only if M2 performance is slowing down spatial creation or demanding interactive apps you use. Several owners barely notice a difference in daily use. If you mainly watch media and use spatial windows, keeping M2 is the sensible choice.

Which Vision Pro should I buy as a new owner?

At the catalog's equal typical/list price of $3499, choose M5 for the newer chip. The original has the same core optical class, but the recorded pricing gives you no budget reason to choose it.

Does M5 have better screens or cameras?

It keeps the same micro-OLED panels and passthrough cameras. Some reviewers see clearer real phone and watch screens through passthrough, but the overall world view is largely unchanged. Do not buy it expecting a new display or camera generation.

Should I replace M2 just to get a more comfortable fit?

Evaluate the band and fit options separately before replacing the headset. Owners report benefits from the newer band, but comfort varies and the core design and battery tether remain the same. A chip upgrade is not itself a solution to face pressure.

Does M5 turn Vision Pro into a good primary gaming headset?

No. Its stronger case is spatial computing and creative workloads, while the mainstream VR game library remains limited. If games are the reason you are buying, Quest 3 is the better starting point than either Vision Pro.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Vision Pro

Typically$3,499

Buy at Apple
Vision Pro (M5)

Typically$3,499

Buy at Apple