Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Apple Vision Pro (M5) vs Meta Quest 3

M5 makes Apple's spatial apps more responsive, but it does not change who should buy Vision Pro. This is still a choice between a premium Apple workspace and a more broadly useful games and mixed-reality headset.

The quick answer

Buy Quest 3 unless you already know which Apple spatial workflows you want Vision Pro for.

Vision Pro (M5)

Buy the Vision Pro (M5) if

  • You already use Mac and iPhone workflows that suit spatial windows
  • Spatial photo and scene creation matter more than VR games
  • You want micro-OLED fidelity for media and spatial apps
  • You accept a heavy headset with a tethered battery

Watch out forEnterprise price with no mainstream game library. Quest 3 remains the default for most people, standalone play, and everyday MR

Quest 3

Buy the Quest 3 if

  • Games are the main reason you want a headset
  • You want the stronger everyday mixed-reality purchase
  • A mainstream typical/list price matters more than Apple integration
  • You want optional wireless PC VR as well as standalone apps

Watch out forStock strap is a common first complaint; budget a better one

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryVision Pro (M5)Quest 3
Overall8786
Clarity10088
Field of view7590
Comfort6285
Battery8579
Tracking9777
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceQuest 3 typically costs $2,899 less than Vision Pro (M5).
  2. 02SharpnessVision Pro (M5) has 157% more pixels per eye than Quest 3, so text and small details look crisper.
  3. 03PictureVision Pro (M5) uses an OLED panel, with true blacks and richer dark scenes than the LCD in Quest 3.
  4. 04ComfortQuest 3 is 260 g lighter than Vision Pro (M5) on your face.
  5. 05ViewQuest 3 shows 10° more side to side than Vision Pro (M5), going by the makers' figures.
  6. 06Eye trackingOnly Vision Pro (M5) tracks your eyes, which lets supported games draw the spot you look at in more detail.

Our verdict

Our verdict

At a typical/list $599 versus $3499 for M5 Vision Pro, it is the better purchase for standalone games, everyday mixed reality, and optional wireless PC VR. Choose M5 Vision Pro for micro-OLED fidelity, Mac and iPhone continuity, and spatial creation that benefits from the newer chip. The M5 editorial points to snappier spatial photos, scenes, and interactive apps, rather than a transformation of the game library. Its panels, exterior, passthrough cameras, and tethered battery remain the same as the M2 model's. Band and counterweight options help some owners, but this is still a heavy headset whose fit you should take seriously before treating it as an everyday workspace.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityApple Vision Pro (M5)M5 retains Vision Pro's high-resolution micro-OLED display stack, which is its advantage for media and spatial windows over Quest 3's LCD. The advantage is the display fidelity it carries over from M2, not a new panel.
  2. Library / standaloneMeta Quest 3Quest 3 is the stronger standalone gaming purchase. M5 improves the responsiveness of Apple spatial apps, but Vision Pro's mainstream VR game library remains thin by comparison.
  3. Value / budgetMeta Quest 3Quest 3's typical/list $599 fits a general-purpose headset purchase much better than M5 Vision Pro's $3499. M5 is worth considering only when its Apple workflows are valuable to you in their own right.
  4. Mixed realityMeta Quest 3Quest 3 remains the everyday MR recommendation for its library, usable passthrough, and value. Faster spatial creation on M5 is a specialist reason to choose Apple, rather than a reason to reverse that general recommendation.

Every spec

14 of 17 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
3660 × 3200Corroborated

Apple gives 23 million pixels across both displays, not a figure per eye.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-28
▲ Leads
Panel:
Micro-OLEDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 / 96 / 100 / 120 HzSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Apple's checked technical specifications do not name the lens architecture.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
100°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Apple publishes no FoV number in the checked official product or specification pages; the catalog's 100° value is not manufacturer-supported.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical: Not confirmed

Fit & power

Weight:
750–800 gSingle source

Varies by configuration. The separate 353 g battery is not included.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
51–75 mm supported IPDSingle source

Supported eye spacing; this is not a manual lens-adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.5 hoursSingle source

Uses an external battery and works while charging. The three-hour rating is for video playback.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Eyes + hands + head trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
Color, with a LiDAR sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-28
Eye tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Apple · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Apple M5 and R1Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-28

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2064×2208Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes. Higher developer-only rates use separate display-scaling settings.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 2 more

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Current Meta device specifications list 110° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more

Meta's product page also lists 104°. The current developer specification is used as the catalog value.

Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Sources disagree

Horizontal figures differ: VR Headset Picker reports 108° measured; VRcompare estimates 103.8°; VR Eddie lists 110°. Vertical figures are 98.25° and 96.4° respectively from VR Headset Picker and VRcompare.

Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
98.25°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
515 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap. Other straps and accessories change the weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
58–70 mm mechanical; 53–75 mm supportedSingle source

Continuous lens adjustment. The supported IPD range is wider than the lenses' adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.2 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD), with depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Meta lists USB-C and Link/Air Link support, but the checked page does not phrase this as a formal no-DisplayPort specification.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Vision Pro (M5)3660×3200Quest 32064×2208
Quest 3: 110°110°Vision Pro (M5): 100°100°
Vision Pro (M5)100°Quest 3110°
Quest 3: 108°108°
Quest 3108°
Quest 3: 96°96°
Quest 396°
Quest 3: 98.25°98.25°
Quest 398.25°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Apple Vision Pro (M5)

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$3,499

Full dossier →

Meta Quest 3

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599.99

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Does the M5 chip make Vision Pro a better buy than Quest 3?

For most people, no. M5 helps Apple spatial creation and interactive apps, but Quest 3 still has the stronger case for games, everyday mixed reality, and value.

Is M5 Vision Pro good as my first gaming headset?

Choose Quest 3 for that job. Vision Pro is primarily a spatial computer, and the M5 chip does not give it Quest's mainstream VR game library.

Did M5 fix Vision Pro's comfort problems?

The headset core was not redesigned, and the battery is still tethered. Dual Knit Band and counterweight options help some owners reduce face pressure, but others do not find the improvement compelling. Fit still varies by head shape.

Do I need a computer for either one?

Both run their own standalone apps. Apple ecosystem integration is a main reason to choose M5 Vision Pro, while Quest 3 offers an optional wireless PC VR path if you have a gaming PC.

Is M5 passthrough a major upgrade from the original Vision Pro?

The cameras are the same, and reviewers describe the world view as largely unchanged. Some report clearer views of real phone or watch screens, but that is not evidence of a new camera generation. It does not displace Quest 3 as the everyday MR purchase.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Vision Pro (M5)

Typically$3,499

Buy at Apple
Quest 3

Typically$599.99

Buy on Amazon