Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Meta Quest 3 vs Meta Quest 3S

Same store, same chip generation, same color passthrough. The money question is the glass in front of your eyes, and whether $250 is worth it to you.

The quick answer

Buy the Quest 3 if you can stretch to it.

Quest 3

Buy the Quest 3 if

  • You will read text in VR: menus, browsers, virtual desktops
  • You want the sharper edge-to-edge image and the wider sweet spot
  • You plan to keep this headset for several years
  • You want the better passthrough for mixed-reality apps

Watch out forStock strap is a common first complaint; budget a better one

Quest 3S

Buy the Quest 3S if

  • $350 is a hard ceiling, or it is a gift
  • It is a first headset and there is nothing to compare it against
  • You mostly play seated or standing games rather than reading in VR
  • You would rather spend the $250 difference on games and a better strap

Watch out forFresnel lenses: smaller sweet spot, more glare/god rays than Quest 3 pancakes

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryQuest 3Quest 3S
Overall8676
Clarity8870
Field of view9067
Comfort8576
Battery7985
Tracking7773
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceQuest 3S typically costs $250 less than Quest 3.
  2. 02SharpnessQuest 3 has 30% more pixels per eye than Quest 3S, so text and small details look crisper.
  3. 03LensesQuest 3 has pancake lenses, sharp to the edges. Quest 3S uses Fresnel lenses, with a smaller sharp spot and more glare.
  4. 04ViewQuest 3 shows 14° more side to side than Quest 3S, going by the makers' figures.

Our verdict

Our verdict

These two headsets run the same Meta store on the same XR2 Gen 2 chip generation, so the library and the apps are identical; what you are actually paying the extra $250 for is pancake lenses instead of Fresnel, and a higher per-eye resolution. That combination is what makes text readable and keeps the image sharp when your eyes drift off-center. Buy the Quest 3S when $350 is a hard ceiling, it is a gift, or it is someone's first headset, because it plays the same games, and a first-time owner with nothing to compare against is rarely bothered by the lenses. Owners who have used both tend to describe the lens jump as the whole price question, so if you expect to read menus, work in passthrough, or keep the headset for years, the cheaper one is the one you outgrow first.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. ClarityMeta Quest 3Pancake lenses and a higher per-eye resolution. Text stays readable and the edges stay sharp; the 3S Fresnel lenses have a smaller sweet spot and more visible god rays.
  2. Library / standaloneMeta Quest 3A tie in practice. Both run the same Meta store and the same XR2 Gen 2 app generation. Nothing in the catalog is exclusive to one of them.
  3. Value / budgetMeta Quest 3SThe same store and the same chip generation for roughly $250 less. The saving is real; it is paid for in lens quality, not in what you can play.
  4. Mixed realityMeta Quest 3Both have color passthrough, but the Quest 3 renders it through better optics, which is what makes passthrough comfortable for anything longer than a demo.

Every spec

11 of 17 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2064×2208Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes. Higher developer-only rates use separate display-scaling settings.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 2 more

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Current Meta device specifications list 110° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more

Meta's product page also lists 104°. The current developer specification is used as the catalog value.

▲ Leads
Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Sources disagree

Horizontal figures differ: VR Headset Picker reports 108° measured; VRcompare estimates 103.8°; VR Eddie lists 110°. Vertical figures are 98.25° and 96.4° respectively from VR Headset Picker and VRcompare.

Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Measured FoV · vertical:
98.25°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
515 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap. Other straps and accessories change the weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–70 mm mechanical; 53–75 mm supportedSingle source

Continuous lens adjustment. The supported IPD range is wider than the lenses' adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.2 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD), with depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Meta lists USB-C and Link/Air Link support, but the checked page does not phrase this as a formal no-DisplayPort specification.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
1832×1920Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes for Quest 3S.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
FresnelSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · horizontal:
96°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement corresponding to the catalog measured column was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
90°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement corresponding to the catalog measured column was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
514 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap and excludes the facial interface.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

A Meta FAQ lists 513 g without stating whether it includes the facial interface. The model-specific technical specification is used as the catalog value.

  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
Three physical interaxial-distance positionsSingle source

Meta does not give the adjustment range on this product page.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.5 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD)Single source

Meta does not list a depth sensor for Quest 3S.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
Direct-touch hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

USB-C and Link/Air Link are documented, but no formal no-DisplayPort statement appears on the checked page.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Quest 32064×2208Quest 3S1832×1920
Quest 3: 110°110°Quest 3S: 96°96°
Quest 3110°Quest 3S96°
Quest 3: 108°108°Quest 3S: 96°96°
Quest 3108°Quest 3S96°
Quest 3: 96°96°Quest 3S: 90°90°
Quest 396°Quest 3S90°
Quest 3: 98.25°98.25°Quest 3S: 96°96°
Quest 398.25°Quest 3S96°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Meta Quest 3

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599.99

Full dossier →

Meta Quest 3S

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$349.99

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Is the lens difference actually noticeable?

Yes, and it is the clearest difference between the two. Fresnel lenses on the 3S have a smaller sweet spot, so the image blurs sooner when your eyes move off-center, and bright scenes show more glare and god rays. Owners who have tried both usually name the lenses as the reason to pay more.

Do they play the same games?

Yes. Both run the same Meta store on the same XR2 Gen 2 chip generation. There is no library split between them, so buying the 3S does not cut you out of anything.

Is the Quest 3S good enough as a first headset?

For most first-time buyers, yes. If you have never used a pancake-lens headset, the Fresnel lenses are unlikely to bother you, and you get modern controllers and color passthrough at an entry price. The risk is that you notice the difference later, once you have something to compare against.

Do I need a PC for either one?

No. Both are full standalone headsets. A gaming PC is optional on either if you want wireless PC VR through Air Link or Virtual Desktop.

Do I need to budget for a better strap?

Plan on it for both. The stock fabric strap is the most common first complaint on either headset, and a halo or battery strap is the usual first upgrade regardless of which one you buy.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Quest 3

Typically$599.99

Buy on Amazon
Quest 3S

Typically$349.99

Buy on Amazon