Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Meta Quest 3 vs Pico 4 Ultra

Both carry a typical/list $599, so price does not decide this one. It is a choice between Quest's software breadth and Ultra's stock comfort balance.

The quick answer

Buy Quest 3 for most standalone and mixed-reality use.

Quest 3

Buy the Quest 3 if

  • You want the broader standalone game library
  • Mixed-reality apps are a main reason to buy
  • You want the safer U.S. support path
  • You are willing to budget for a better strap

Watch out forStock strap is a common first complaint; budget a better one

Pico 4 Ultra

Buy the Pico 4 Ultra if

  • You live in a Pico-supported region
  • Rear-balanced stock comfort is a priority
  • Your intended games are on Pico or your gaming PC
  • You accept the reported passthrough motion blur tradeoff

Watch out forNot Quest 3 for most people: a thinner store and weaker U.S. retail and support

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryQuest 3Pico 4 Ultra
Overall8682
Clarity8878
Field of view9083
Comfort8580
Battery7985
Tracking7777
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PricePico 4 Ultra typically costs $1 less than Quest 3.
  2. 02ComfortQuest 3 is 65 g lighter than Pico 4 Ultra on your face.
  3. 03ViewQuest 3 shows 5° more side to side than Pico 4 Ultra, going by the makers' figures.

Our verdict

Our verdict

At the same typical/list $599, its deeper library and stronger U.S. support are more useful to most buyers than Pico 4 Ultra's hardware appeal. Buy Ultra if you live in a supported region, prefer its rear-balanced fit, and know the Pico store or your PC library covers your games. Owners often find it more comfortable than a stock Quest 3, which commonly needs a strap upgrade. Passthrough is a qualified advantage: some reports favor Ultra when still but describe more blur in motion than Quest 3. Do not choose Ultra on the assumption that a nice stationary passthrough image gives it the better overall mixed-reality experience.

Where each one wins

Judged for this matchup. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. Library / standaloneMeta Quest 3Quest's larger standalone library is the stronger reason to spend the same typical/list amount. Ultra suits buyers who have already checked that Pico or PC VR covers their games.
  2. Comfort / long sessionsPico 4 UltraOwners often favor Ultra's stock headstrap balance over Quest 3 before strap upgrades. Balance here is about how the weight sits rather than the total weight.
  3. Mixed realityMeta Quest 3Quest 3 remains the stronger overall MR choice for its software ecosystem. Ultra earns praise for stationary passthrough clarity, but reports of greater blur in motion prevent calling it an unqualified upgrade.
  4. Setup & ecosystemMeta Quest 3Quest is the safer mainstream path, especially for U.S. warranty and support. Ultra's case depends on whether Pico is properly supported where you live.

Every spec

15 of 19 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2064×2208Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes. Higher developer-only rates use separate display-scaling settings.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 2 more
▲ Leads

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Current Meta device specifications list 110° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more

Meta's product page also lists 104°. The current developer specification is used as the catalog value.

Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Sources disagree

Horizontal figures differ: VR Headset Picker reports 108° measured; VRcompare estimates 103.8°; VR Eddie lists 110°. Vertical figures are 98.25° and 96.4° respectively from VR Headset Picker and VRcompare.

Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
98.25°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
515 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap. Other straps and accessories change the weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
IPD:
58–70 mm mechanical; 53–75 mm supportedSingle source

Continuous lens adjustment. The supported IPD range is wider than the lenses' adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.2 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD), with depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Meta lists USB-C and Link/Air Link support, but the checked page does not phrase this as a formal no-DisplayPort specification.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2160×2160Single source

Physical display resolution; PICO separately lists 1920×1920 rendering resolution per eye.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
▲ Leads
Panel:
Dual 2.56-inch LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
90 HzSingle source

PICO's separate 72 Hz figure describes camera timing, not the display refresh rate.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
105°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

PICO's 105° FoV has no stated axis.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Measured FoV · horizontal:
105°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement corresponding to the catalog measured horizontal value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
105°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No manufacturer measurement corresponding to the catalog measured vertical value was found.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
580 gSingle source

304 g front including foam pad plus 276 g rear including straps, battery compartment and cushion; ±3 g.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–72 mm continuous IPDSingle source

Physical pupil-distance adjustment.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
3420 mAh, ~2.5 hoursSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out with four environment camerasSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
Dual 32 MP color see-through plus iToF depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 2 more

No eye-tracking camera or yes/no statement appears in the checked PICO 4 Ultra consumer specifications.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source

PanoScreen supports interaction through hands as well as controllers and peripherals.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

PICO documents wireless PC streaming and USB-C charging/data but no native DisplayPort input.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity:
5700 mAh rated / 5770 mAh typicalSingle source

Battery capacity; this does not establish how long a charge lasts.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified:
105°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • PICO · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Quest 32064×2208Pico 4 Ultra2160×2160
Quest 3: 110°110°Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°
Quest 3110°Pico 4 Ultra105°
Quest 3: 108°108°Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°
Quest 3108°Pico 4 Ultra105°
Quest 3: 96°96°
Quest 396°
Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°Quest 3: 98.25°98.25°
Quest 398.25°Pico 4 Ultra105°
Pico 4 Ultra: 105°105°
Pico 4 Ultra105°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Meta Quest 3

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599.99

Full dossier →

Pico 4 Ultra

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599

Full dossier →

Before you buy

Questions worth asking

Is Pico 4 Ultra better value than Quest 3?

Both have a typical/list $599 in the catalog. Ultra can be the better fit if its stock comfort suits you, but Quest's broader library is the stronger general value argument.

Which has better mixed reality?

Choose Quest 3 for the overall mixed-reality experience and software library. Ultra's stationary passthrough gets praise, but some owners report more blur when moving.

Can I play PC VR on either headset?

Yes, both support wireless PC VR with a capable gaming PC. Neither offers DisplayPort, so these are streaming choices rather than native DisplayPort headsets.

Is Ultra worth importing into the U.S.?

Only for a specific preference such as its stock fit, with support risk accepted. For most U.S. buyers, Quest 3 is the safer purchase.

Do I need a better strap with either one?

Plan for that possibility on Quest 3, whose stock strap is a recurring complaint. Ultra owners often praise the supplied balance, though that cannot guarantee a comfortable fit for every face.

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Quest 3

Typically$599.99

Buy on Amazon
Pico 4 Ultra

Typically$599

Buy on Amazon