Skip to content
topvrnews

Head to head · specs checked Oct 2026

Meta Quest 3 vs Steam Frame

Pick Meta Quest 3 for Most people who want one headset for standalone games, mixed reality, and optional wireless PC VR; choose Steam Frame for LCD · Standalone / PC VR / Steam.

The quick answer

Quest 3

Who it is forMost people who want one headset for standalone games, mixed reality, and optional wireless PC VR.

Watch out forStock strap is a common first complaint; budget a better one

Steam Frame

Who it is forLCD · Standalone / PC VR / Steam

Scores by category

0 to 100, the same scale for every headset. Price is left out. How we score

CategoryQuest 3Steam Frame
Overall8676
Clarity8888
Field of view9090
Comfort8569
Battery7930
Tracking7761
Ease of setup100100

What's actually different

Worked out from the spec sheets, in plain words. What they share is left out.

  1. 01PriceQuest 3 typically costs $459 less than Steam Frame.
  2. 02ComfortSteam Frame is 75 g lighter than Quest 3 on your face.

Where each one wins

From our use-case picks. Criteria without a supported judgment are left out.

  1. Library / standaloneMeta Quest 3Best mix of library, mixed reality, and wireless PC VR at a mainstream price.
  2. Mixed realityMeta Quest 3Color passthrough that owners actually use; library exists.

Every spec

14 of 17 published specs differ

Display

Resolution per eye:
2064×2208Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Panel:
LCDSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Refresh rate:
72 / 80 / 90 / 120 HzSingle source

Meta documents these display modes. Higher developer-only rates use separate display-scaling settings.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 2 more

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Current Meta device specifications list 110° horizontal.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-14 · 1 more

Meta's product page also lists 104°. The current developer specification is used as the catalog value.

Measured FoV · horizontal:
108°Sources disagree

Horizontal figures differ: VR Headset Picker reports 108° measured; VRcompare estimates 103.8°; VR Eddie lists 110°. Vertical figures are 98.25° and 96.4° respectively from VR Headset Picker and VRcompare.

Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · vertical:
96°Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Measured FoV · vertical:
98.25°Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

Manufacturer documentation supplies design FoV axes, not the catalog's third-party measured value.

  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Fit & power

Weight:
515 gSingle source

Includes the standard soft strap. Other straps and accessories change the weight.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
IPD:
58–70 mm mechanical; 53–75 mm supportedSingle source

Continuous lens adjustment. The supported IPD range is wider than the lenses' adjustment range.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Battery life:
2.2 hoursSingle source

Battery life varies with apps, settings, battery age and wireless connections.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out head and hand trackingSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13 · 1 more
Passthrough:
Color stereoscopic, 4 MP (18 PPD), with depth sensorSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Eye tracking:
Not featuredSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Meta · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Hand tracking:
YesSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Snapdragon XR2 Gen 2Single source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
DisplayPort:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Meta lists USB-C and Link/Air Link support, but the checked page does not phrase this as a formal no-DisplayPort specification.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • picker · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed

Display

Resolution per eye:
2160×2160Single source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No accessible exact per-eye resolution was retained from Valve.

Panel:
LCDCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No accessible exact panel-type specification was retained from Valve.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Refresh rate:
90 / 120 / 144 HzCorroborated

VRcompare: 144; VR Eddie: 90/120/144 Hz.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No accessible official refresh-mode specification was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Optics & field of view

Lenses:
PancakeSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No accessible official lens specification was retained.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Manufacturer FoV · horizontal:
Up to 110°Single source

Valve's figure, as PC Gamer reports it.

Review · checked 2026-09-28
  • PC Gamer · Review · checked 2026-09-28
Measured FoV · horizontal:
110°Single source

Measured by PC Gamer with TestHMD.

Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28
  • PC Gamer · Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28
Manufacturer FoV · vertical: Not confirmed
Measured FoV · vertical:
88°Single source

Measured by PC Gamer with TestHMD.

Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28
  • PC Gamer · Original measurement · checked 2026-09-28

Fit & power

Weight:
440 gSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No accessible official product weight was retained.

IPD:
60–70 mmSources disagree

VRcompare lists 60–70 mm. VR Eddie does not give a range.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No accessible official IPD range was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Battery life:
Not specifiedSingle source
Database · checked 2026-09-10

No explicit manufacturer statement supporting this field was located in the checked original sources.

  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Tracking & input

Tracking:
Inside-out tracked standalone headsetSingle source
Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-13
Passthrough:
MonochromeCorroborated

Built-in outward-facing cameras. The separate Arcturus Vision Camera adds color passthrough.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-29
  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-09-29
Eye tracking:
YesCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No definitive official eye-tracking statement was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
Hand tracking:
NoCorroborated
Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

No definitive official hand-tracking statement was retained.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10

Silicon & connection

Chipset:
Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3Sources disagree

VRcompare: Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Gen 3; VR Eddie: Snapdragon 8 Series.

Database · checked 2026-09-10 · 1 more

Not confirmed by the manufacturer.

  • vrcompare · Database · checked 2026-09-10
  • eddie · Database · checked 2026-09-10
DisplayPort:
NoSingle source

PC streaming can use the included 6GHz adapter or a 5GHz router wired directly to the PC.

Manufacturer · checked 2026-10-06
  • Valve · Manufacturer · checked 2026-10-06

Other published values

Launch MSRP (historical): Not confirmed
Battery capacity: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - diagonal: Not confirmed
Manufacturer FoV - axis not specified: Not confirmed
Release date: Not confirmed
Announced: Not confirmed
In production: Not confirmed
Discontinued: Not confirmed
Drawn to scale
Quest 32064×2208Steam Frame2160×2160
Quest 3: 110°110°Steam Frame: 110°110°
Quest 3110°Steam Frame110°
Steam Frame: 110°110°Quest 3: 108°108°
Quest 3108°Steam Frame110°
Quest 3: 96°96°
Quest 396°
Quest 3: 98.25°98.25°Steam Frame: 88°88°
Quest 398.25°Steam Frame88°

▲ Leads marks the best figure in a row, and only where the figures compare like for like: the same measurement conditions, nothing disputed, and one clear leader. Rows where every headset matches get no mark. Panels and fields of view are drawn at one scale for every headset on screen, and each value opens its sources.

What you need to play

The headset, plus anything it cannot run without.

Meta Quest 3

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$599.99

Full dossier →

Steam Frame

You needNothing else. It runs on its own.

Typically$1,059

Full dossier →

More comparisons

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. How our links work.

Quest 3

Typically$599.99

Buy on Amazon
Steam Frame

Typically$1,059

Details →